Logo of Department, Government of Meghalaya

Slider 1

Organisational Setup at Block Level

View Organisational Chart Pdf icon (180 kb)

Coming down to the Block Level, the entire State has been divided into 43 Blocks in order to provide development to the rural villages/areas and bring the administration closer to the people. Each Development Block is headed by an Officer called the Block Development Officer who is assisted by a team of Officers in the field of Agriculture, A.H. Veterinary and Engineering. They undertake survey work, prepare the scheme with plans and estimates and so on for approval and sanction. Each Block is divided into 15 Circles in order to achieve success in the sphere development at the grass root level. Each circle is under the charge of a Gram Sevak. The total number of posts in all the Block Offices are as follows :

1 Block Development Officer
2 Accountants
3 U.D.As
4 UDA-Cahshier
5 L.D.A.-Cashier
6 L.D.A.-Typists
7 Sub-Engineers
8 Section Assistants
9 Sr. Gram Sevaks
10 Gram Sevaks
11 Gram Sevikas
12 Drivers
13 Peons to BDOs
14 Office peons
15 Chowkidar
1 Extension Officer (Agriculture)
2 Extension Officer (Veterinary)