Logo of Department, Government of Meghalaya

Slider 1
Construction of Water Harvesting Storage at Iewduh Lyngkyrdem VEC, Pynursla Block, East Khasi Hills District
Slider 2
Construction of Check Dam at Mawryngkneng VEC, Mawryngkneng Block, East Khasi Hills District
Slider 3
Construction of Check Dam at Mawsmai VEC, Shella Bholaganj Block, East Khasi Hills District
Slider 4
Construction of water conservation structure at Nongthymmai Lumthangding VEC, Khatarshnong Laitkroh Block, East Khasi Hills District
Slider 5
Construction of Check Dam at Pingwait VEC, Mawkynrew Block, East Khasi Hills District
Slider 6
Construction of Check Dam at Pomshutia VEC, Pynursla Block, East Khasi Hills District
Slider 7
Community Water conservation cum fish rearing at Upper Khamari (Rabha) VEC, Tikrikilla Block, West Garo Hills District

Districts in Meghalaya

Meghalaya Map

Basic Facts of Meghalaya
Location Latitude 20°1' N and 26°5' N
Longitude 85°49' E and 92°52' E
Area 22,429 Sq. Km.
Population 29,66,889 (As Per 2011 Census)
Capital Shillong
Districts 12 (Twelve)
C & RD Blocks 55 (Fifty Five)
Literacy 74.43 %
Density 132 per Sq. Km.

Tucked away in the hills of eastern sub-Himalayas is Meghalaya, one of the most beautiful State in the country. Nature has blessed her with abundant rainfall, sun-shine, virgin forests, high plateaus, tumbling waterfalls, crystal clear rivers, meandering streamlets and above all with sturdy, intelligent and hospitable people.

Emergence of Meghalaya as an Autonomous State on 2nd April 1970 and as a full-fledged State on 21st January 1972 marked the beginning of a new era of the geo-political history of North Eastern India. It also marked the triumph of peaceful democratic negotiations, mutual understanding and victory over violence and intrigue.

The State of Meghalaya is situated on the north east of India. It extends for about 300 kilometres in length and about 100 kilometres in breadth. It is bounded on the north by Goalpara, Kamrup and Nowgong districts, on the east by Karbi Anglong and North Cachar Hills districts, all of Assam, and on the south and west by Bangladesh.

Shillong, the capital of Meghalaya is located at an altitude of 1496 metres above sea level. Shillong, which was made Assam's capital in 1874, remained so till January 1972, following the formation of Meghalaya. The capital city derives its name from the manifestation of the creator called Shyllong.

There are 12 (Twelve) Districts in Meghalaya as follows:
Serial Number District Name District Headquarter

East Khasi Hills District



West Khasi Hills District



South West Khasi Hills District



Ri Bhoi District



West Jaintia Hills District



East Jaintia Hills District



East Garo Hills District



West Garo Hills District



North Garo Hills District



South West Garo Hills District



South Garo Hills District


12 Eastern West Khasi Hills District Mairang